Our Libraries

Locations and Hours

Monroe Library

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00

316 East Windsor Street

Friday: 9:00 to 6:00

Monroe, NC 28112

Saturday:  1:00 to 5:00


Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Dickerson Genealogy & Local History Room

Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 6:00

Monroe Library

Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00

704-283-8184 x224

Sunday:  closed


Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00

414 Hasty Street

Friday: 9:00 to 6:00

Marshville, NC 28103

Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00


Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Union West Regional Library

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00

123 Unionville-Indian Trail Road

Friday: 9:00 to 6:00

Indian Trail, NC 28079

Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00


Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Waxhaw Branch Library

Monday & Thursday:  9:00 to 7:00

509 South Providence Street

Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday: 9:00 to 6:00

Waxhaw, NC 28173

Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00


Sunday: closed


Holidays and Closings

In 2015, the Libraries will be closed on the following days:

New Year’s Day

Thursday, January 1

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, January 19

Staff Development Day

Monday, February 16

Easter Holiday

Friday, April 3 through Sunday, April 5

Memorial Day Weekend

Saturday, May 23 through Monday May 25

Independence Day

Friday, July 3 through Saturday, July 4

Labor Day Weekend

Saturday, September 5 through Monday, September 7

Veteran’s Day

Wednesday, November 11

Thanksgiving Holiday

Thursday, November 26 through Friday, November 27

Christmas Holiday

Thursday, December 24 through Sunday, December 27

All libraries close at 5:00 p.m. on Thanksgiving Eve and New Year's Eve.


Library Board of Trustees

The Library Board is appointed by the Union County Board of Commissioners.  Appointments are for two years.  The Library Board sets policies for library services and makes recommendations for improving facilities.

Any meeting schedule changes will be shown on the calendar below or under Current Meetings and Events on the Union County website, www.co.union.nc.us .

If you are interested in serving on the Library Board, please submit an application to the Clerk to the Board of Commissioners.  The application can be found at www.co.union.nc.us.  Click on Government, then Boards and Committees, Boards and Committees Application.  The application can be submitted online or printed and submitted by mail.

Current members of the Library Board are:

Mr. Gustavo Arévalo


Ms. Karen Bowman


Ms. Charlene Baucom


Ms. Valerie Gromlovits


Ms. Bromley Sharrett


Ms. Amee Odom


Ms. Margi Sowden


Ms. Myra Helms


Ms. Renee Hottle



2014-2015 Meeting Schedule: The Library Board generally meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 5:30.



Tuesday,July 15, 2014

Monroe Library

No meeting in August 2014

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Monroe Library

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Monroe Library

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Monroe Library

No meeting in December 2014

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Union West Regional Library

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Monroe Library

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Waxhaw Library

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Edwards Memorial Library

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Monroe Library

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Monroe Library


Friends of the Library

The Friends of the Union County Public Library are a support group that raises money for library programs.  In addition, it presents three author events each year:  its annual meeting in January featuring one or more local authors, a spring tea in April and an author dinner in the Fall.  Tickets for the tea and the author dinner go fast, so be watching for announcements about those events. 

You may join the Friends group for the low membership fee of $20.  You are also welcome to become a working member of the Friends Board, to assist with the annual events.  For information about the Friends activities, or upcoming meetings, call 704-283-8184 ext.241 or send an email to friends@union.lib.nc.us.

View the latest Friends Newsletter.